Arms of Canada's Commissioners

British ColumbiaAlbertaSaskatchewanManitobaOntarioQuebecNew BrunswickPrince Edward IslandNova ScotiaNewfoundlandYukonNorthwest TerritoriesNunavut
 Northwest Territories
Armorial of those territorial Commissioners of Northwest Territories who bore lawfully Granted Arms from the Canadian Heraldic Authority

Coat of Arms of the Northwest Territories
Click on the arms presented below to view a larger image of the same and its blazon if available. Click on their name to view their biographies.
    Comm. George L. Tuccaro
Mr. Tuccaro was born on May 12, 1950, and is a member of the Mikisew Cree First Nation of northern Alberta. Mr. Tuccaro is a recipient of the Commemorative Medal for the 125th Anniversary of Confederation, the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal, and the National Aboriginal Achievement Award in 2006 for Media & Communication.
2010 -
click to view larger image of the same   Comm. Anthony W. J. Whitford
Mr. Whitford was born and raised in Fort Smith, Northwest Territories. Mr. Whitford was first elected as a Member of the Legislative Assembly in 1988 and has served as Minister of Health and Social Services, Safety and Public Services and Transportation. In 1999, he was elected by his fellow Members to serve as the Speaker of the 14th Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories.
2005 - 2010
click to view larger image of the same   Comm. Glenna F. Hansen
An Inuvialuit, the former Commissioner was born in Aklavik, Northwest Territories on August 10, 1956. She joined David Storr and Sons Contracting Ltd., Inuvik, NWT, in 1990 as an executive assistant and rose to become the firm's general manager in 1996, a position she currently occupies.
2000 - 2005
click to view larger image of the same   Comm. Daniel Joseph Marion
1999 - 2000
click to view larger image of the same   Comm. Helen Maksagak, CM
From 1992 to 1994, Mrs. Maksagak served as the Deputy Commissioner of the Northwest Territories and later assumed the responsibilities of the Commissioner until 1999. Mrs. Maksagak was the first woman and first Inuk to hold these positions. In March 1999, Mrs. Maksagak was chosen to be the first Commissioner of the newly created Nunavut Territory, a position she held until April 2000.
1995 - 1999
click to view larger image of the same   Comm. Daniel Leonard Norris
Comm. Daniel Leonard Norris is Knight of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem.
1989 - 1994

Released: January 14, 2004 / Updated: June 5, 2012